2013-07-26

It's hard to get high when you're living on the bottom

I have had a hell of a week. On the plus side, I have a job that I don't hate myself for. On the negative side, I have already begun to bring that job home with me. Don't you hate that? You work hard all day at work, then go home, and instead of relaxing, you're still thinking about work. This is one reason why I really can't wait for the future, where by some magical force of technology we will be able to either literally unplug ourselves from our computers to stop that or have some magical pill to take that completely blocks those receptors in our brain that keep reminding us of stupid things we either 1) forgot to do, 2) don't want to do, or 3) don't know how the hell we are going to do.

I've been learning a new system for accounts payable and recievable. It really makes me wonder why I ever wanted to be an accountant. Because it really is as dull and boring as you think it will be. But, at least it's working with numbers. And numbers make sense for me, even when nothing else does.

After being with my hubby for about 10 years now, I still discover new things about him that completely disarm me. I'm sure these things aren't new personality traits that just popped up out of nowhere, but that I was just too absorbed in my own little stuff that I didn't really give them a second thought. Today while driving me home from work, I might have actually feared for my life a bit. He was speeding like a demon, and not using his turn signal, and stomping on the gas pedal like he was playing Whack-a-Mole with his feet. I was a little afraid. Usually he is an excellent driver, and isn't afraid to rub my nose in it from time to time. And then I realized, he hasn't had a cigarette at all today. And it has made him certifiably insane.

Staying with the inlaws is making me certifiably insane. Not all of them, but my sister-in-law definitely needs an attitude adjustment. I would sure like to be the one to give her one, but the 120 pounds and extra foot she has on me make that an unlikely prospect. Unless of course, I have some deep-seated passion to spend the week in the hospital, which I do not.

Lord, give me strength not to do something stupid.

Lyric To Lounge To: People like us, we've got to stick together. Keep your head up, nothing lasts forever. Here's to the damned, to the lost and forgotten. It's hard to get high when you're living on the bottom. "People Like Us" by Kelly Clarkson.

Thought of the Day: Someday, in this life or the next, I want to not be afraid of spiders. Just so I feel like the tough woman who kills her own spider in the garage without screaming for a man to do it for me.

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker